Sparklers

“I am convinced that it’s not my destiny to be truly happy. Much like it wasn’t my mother’s destiny, nor my grandmother’s. True, there have been moments where the sparks of it lit up my soul like New Year’s Eve in Times Square. So bright…so bright that it hurt to feel them but I held on and burned and burned because when was the next time going to come…?

But, they fade. And after? It’s just garbage that needs to be swept.”

A soft, sad smile.

“But, for all that?”

The smile grew brighter for an instant.

“I still have Hope.

What do you have?”

Thoughts?

